Posted on 5/24/21

Texas authorities are asking for help identifying a hit-and-run driver. Law enforcement found a critically injured pedestrian after an unknown driver struck him on February 23rd. The pedestrian was a 21-year-old man who was trying to cross the street when a vehicle struck him. The vehicle fled the scene, and the victim landed in an area between the road and sidewalk. He was found hours after the incident occurred by a work crew. Should law enforcement discover the other driver’s identity, they will face criminal charges for a hit-and-run, carrying serious penalties. 

What Constitutes a Hit-and-Run in Texas?

In Texas, drivers involved in an accident cannot leave the scene of the accident before they check for injuries and provide contact information to the other people involved. Hit-and-run accidents can occur when a driver strikes another driver, a pedestrian, a bicyclist, or property, and then leaves the accident scene. 

All parties involved in an accident must stay on the scene until they have exchanged contact information and called for emergency medical help. The purpose of this law is to allow insurance companies to establish fault and payout monetary damages to victims.

What are the Penalties of a Hit and Run?

The penalties for the hit-and-run accident involves how much damage occurred during the accident, as follows:

  • Less than $200 in damage: The defendant will face a Class C misdemeanor with a fine of $500.

  • Over $200 in damage: The defendant will face a Class B misdemeanor charge, punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months and a maximum $2,000 fine.

  • When a hit-and-run accident involves an injury that is not serious, the defendant will be charged with a felony that carries a prison term of up to five years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

  • When a hit-and-run accident involves a serious injury or the death of another person, the defendant will face third-degree felony charges. Third-degree felonies carry a prison sentence of up to 10 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

Depending on the facts of your case, you may be able to defend yourself by claiming that you are responding to an emergency, that you were involuntarily intoxicated, or that you were unaware of the accident or the injury. Your defense lawyer can help you develop the best legal strategy possible. 

Contact a Flower Mound Criminal Defense Lawyer

Facing hit-and-run charges can be overwhelming. Not only are you facing potential jail time and significant fines, but the stigma associated with a hit-and-run conviction can cause negative consequences in your career and personal life. If you have been charged with a hit-and-run in Texas, the experienced criminal defense lawyers Abel Law Firm are here to help. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation to learn how we can advocate on your behalf and protect your rights.

Flower Mound Office

Phone: 972.584.7837

Denton Office