A suspect is now in police custody after a standoff with a Texas SWAT team. The 23-year-old male has been charged with armed robbery, and the standoff occurred at a hotel in Austin. After officers tried to get the suspect to surrender, he barricaded himself in the hotel. Law enforcement shot the suspect, injuring him, but nobody else was injured at the scene. Law enforcement officers had previously arrested the suspect in 2019 and 2020 on assault charges for causing bodily injury to a family member. In addition to aggravated robbery charges, the defendant is also facing charges for unauthorized use of a vehicle and theft.
What Constitutes Armed Robbery in Texas?
In Texas, armed robbery is one of several different types of aggravated robbery. Under Texas law, a robbery happens whenever the suspect is trying to steal something or commit theft, and the suspect hurts or threatens someone during the theft. A suspect could face armed robbery charges even if he or she did not intend to hurt someone during the robbery. The fact that someone became injured is a ground for prosecutors to charge the suspect with armed robbery.
Prosecutors will increase a robbery charge to aggravated robbery when the robber has a deadly weapon or is otherwise armed during the robbery. In Texas, the category of
“deadly weapons” aren’t just limited to firearms and guns. A deadly weapon can include any object that can cause someone else serious bodily injury or death.
When someone commits a robbery and uses a deadly weapon in the process, they will face an aggravated robbery charge that carries a harsher penalty than robbery. Even if the suspect does not use the weapon but simply displays the weapon during the robbery, they will face aggravated robbery charges. The following factors can increase a robbery charge to an aggravated robbery charge, which is a first-degree felony:
The defendant caused another person serious bodily injury
the defendant user displayed a deadly weapon
the defendant caused bodily injury to or threatened a person age 65 or older
the defendant caused bodily injury to or threatened a disabled person
The Penalty for Aggravated Robbery
A first-time offender without a previous criminal history convicted of aggravated robbery will face a prison sentence ranging from five to 99 years or life in prison. The court cannot give the defendant probation but must give the defendant a prison sentence. If you or your loved one has been charged with armed robbery or aggravated robbery in Texas, you are facing jail time. The only way you can get a probation sentence is from a jury after going through a full criminal trial.
Contact a Texas Defense Lawyer Today
If you are facing robbery or aggravated robbery charges, you need an experienced Fort Worth criminal defense lawyer on your side. ContactAbel Law Firm today to schedule your free initial consultation.