If you have been charged with a Texas DWI, getting professional help from an experienced attorney is crucial. Texas prosecutors take DWI crimes seriously and will fight hard to convict you. Most people are aware of the jail time they may have to serve if they are convicted of a DWI. However, there are various other penalties that Texas residents endure after a DWI conviction. Aggressively defending yourself against a DWI conviction can help you significantly in the future.
Jail Time for a DWI in Texas
The most obvious penalty for DWI is jail time. A person convicted of a DWI in Texas could spend up to 180 days in jail. If you are required to do jail time, there is a good chance that you will lose your job and strain your family relationships. If you have a blood alcohol concentration of .15% or higher upon arrest, you will face enhancing penalties and could spend up to a year in jail and pay a fine between $3,000 and $6,000.
If you have been charged with a first-time DWI, you may be able to get a plea deal that involves probation instead of jail time. Probation is better than serving jail time, but it also includes requirements that are often unpleasant, such as:
Completing multiple alcohol education programs that you must pay for yourself
Completing up to 100 hours of community service
Paying court costs of up to $500
Paying probation fees between $700 and $1,440
You may need to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle and pay for it yourself
Requirements that you abstain from consuming any alcohol
Rules against entering bars, travel restrictions, and curfews
Your Insurance Rates Will Increase After a DWI Conviction
Multiple factors influence the premium you pay for your car insurance. Your driving history is one of the most critical variables in how insurance companies determine your monthly rate. If you have a clean record, you will probably pay the lowest rate possible. If you have a DWI conviction on your driving record, your car insurance premiums will almost certainly increase. On average, drivers experienced a 99% increase in their monthly auto insurance premiums after being convicted of a DWI.
Some providers may increase your rate by over $1,000 a year, or they may prevent you from renewing your car insurance policy after you have been convicted of a DWI. For example, the average rate for full auto insurance coverage with a nationwide provider for a Texas driver was $1,705. The full coverage rate for a driver with a DWI increased to $2,638. Those with a DWI conviction often pay much higher rates for years afterward.
Contact a Flower Mound DWI Lawyer Today
Whether you have been charged with a first-time or subsequent DWI, you need an aggressive criminal defense lawyer on your side. At Abel Law Firm, we will fight hard for the best outcome possible in your case. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.