Posted on 10/25/21

If you have been charged with a DWI in Texas, you are probably concerned about losing your license. You may be worried about how you will drive to and from work, run errands, or pick up your children from school. If this is your first time being charged with a DWI, you face a driver’s license suspension of 90 days to one year. However, if you have previous DWI convictions on your record, your driver’s license suspension could range from six months to multiple years.

Factors That Determine The Length of Your Driver’s License Suspension

Other factors can affect how long your driver’s license will be suspended. For example, the length of your driver’s license suspension will increase if any of the following conditions apply to your offense:

  • Your blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds .08%

  • You had a child age 14 or younger in the car with you

  • You had an open container of alcohol in the car

  • The DWI caused an accident, bodily injury, or fatality

Underage DWI and Suspended Driver’s Licenses

There is a zero-tolerance standard for underaged drivers who drive while intoxicated with alcohol or drugs in Texas. This rule applies to all drivers aged 21 and younger. If there is any detectable amount of alcohol in the driver’s system while driving, the driver will face serious criminal charges. The type of DWI charge and the length of the driver’s license suspension will depend on the young driver’s BAC.

  • BAC of .01 – .079%: the driver will lose their license for 60 days to six months

  • BAC of .08 to 0.149%: the driver will face a driver’s license suspension of one year for a first offense, up to 18 months for a second offense, and up to two years for a subsequent offense

Administrative License Revocation Hearing

When you are arrested for a DWI, the police officer will take your driver’s license and issue a temporary permit that allows you to drive. This permit is called a notice of suspension and temporary driving permit. You will then need to attend an administrative and civil hearing overseen by an administrative law judge. This hearing is called the Administrative License Revocation Hearing.

You will need to request the hearing within 15 days of being arrested. If you do not, your license will automatically be suspended for 40 days after your arrest. Your defense lawyer can provide testimony and evidence showing that you should have your driver’s license reinstated as quickly as possible. You do have the right to appeal a suspension of your driver’s license, but you must submit your appeal within 30 days of the start of your suspension.

Contact a Dallas/Ft. Worth Criminal Defense Lawyer Today

 If you have been charged with a DWI, the best way to protect yourself and your driver’s license is to work with a skilled criminal defense lawyer. Contact Abel Law Firm today to schedule your initial consultation with one of our experienced criminal defense lawyers.

Flower Mound Office

Phone: 972.584.7837

Denton Office