During the holidays, Texas law enforcement agencies ramp up their efforts to arrest drivers for driving while intoxicated (DWI). The Dallas police are stepping up DWI enforcement through their “Home for the Holidays” campaign to prevent DWI deaths. If you have been arrested for DWI over the holidays, you may be concerned about jail time, probation, and fines. Many people do not realize that there is a significant head in financial costs associated with being convicted of a DWI in Texas.
Many people are surprised to find out that their insurance rates increased after being convicted of a DWI. If you have been convicted of a DWI, you can expect your annual insurance premiums to increase by about $1,000. If your DWI was severe, you might find out that your insurance coverage has dropped you entirely and have difficulty finding an affordable insurance policy.
In addition to potential jail time, you may have to pay fines after a DWI conviction. The fine for a first-time DWI in Texas is up to $2,000. A second offense has a maximum fine of up to $4,000, and a third offense has a maximum fine of up to $10,000. If the DWI resulted in another person’s injury or death, you could also be responsible for restitution payments to the victim or his or her family.
Ignition Interlock Devices
After a DWI conviction, you could be required to pay to install an ignition interlock device on your car. This is a breathalyzer device that is built into your vehicle. You will need to pass a breathalyzer test each time you drive, or your engine will not start. The installation costs about $100, and you will need to pay an additional $60 to $80 per month for device monitoring and calibration.
Drug Testing Costs
Some DWI offenders may be required to take alcohol and drug tests regularly and pay for the bill.
Most people in the Dallas-Fort Worth area rely on their vehicles to get them to and from work and all of their other obligations. If you lose your driver’s license due to a DWI, you need to pay for alternate transportation. It is possible to get a bus pass, but if you do not live on the bus route, you may have to rely on a taxi or an Uber, which can easily cost at least $15 each way. You may be able to get an occupational driver’s license, but the average cost for this license is around $1,000.
Discuss Your DWI With a Dallas/Ft. Worth Defense Attorney Today
If you have been arrested for a DWI in Texas over the holidays, you need an experienced attorney on your side to avoid all of the consequences that come with a DWI conviction. Abel Law Firm will fight hard for your rights. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation and learn more about our skilled criminal defense attorneys.