Americans have been concerned about their safety since the protests, riots, and social unrest that happened as a result of George Floyd’s killing. An estimated 3 million additional firearms have been sold since March than would have ordinarily been sold. 1.5 million gun sales happened during the month of June. During the last week of May, gun sales increased 78% from those sold in May 2019.
Contact an Experienced Dallas Gun Crimes Defense Lawyer
If you are one of the many Texans who purchased a gun for the first time, you may have questions about Texas gun laws. Unfortunately, innocent gun owners sometimes face criminal gun charges. If you have been charged with a gun crime in Texas, Abel Law Firm is here to help. We will investigate your case and give you the best criminal defense possible. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation. We will discuss some of the most commonly charged Texas gun crimes below.
Making a False Statement to Acquire a Firearm
It is illegal to knowingly make a false statement in connection with buying a firearm in Texas. You will need to undergo a state and federal background check in Texas to purchase a gun in a retail store. If you lie in connection with the background check, you could face felony charges. Making a false statement includes making any oral or written false statement that is materially false. It also includes providing or exhibiting fake identification that is likely to deceive the gun seller, licensed dealer, or licensed manufacturer.
A Felon in Possession of a Firearm
Under Texas law, certain people are not allowed to legally own, possess, or transfer a firearm, or ammunition. If you have been convicted of a felony, you cannot possess or purchase a firearm during any time or anyplace within five years after your felony conviction. After the five-year time period expires, you can only possess a firearm where you live. If you have been convicted of unlawful possession of a firearm, you can face a third-degree felony charge and up to 10 years in state prison, along with a $10,000 fine.
Possessing a Prohibited Weapon
The crime of possessing a prohibited weapon in Texas is serious. If convicted, you will face significant prison time. Only certain types of firearms and weapons are allowed. The following types of weapons are not allowed:
A tire deflation device
Certain types of firearm silencers
Defending Against Texas Gun Crimes Charges
Even if you had no intent to violate a Texas gun law, can still be charged and convicted of gun crime. If you are facing criminal gun charges, it is important not to dismiss the charges, thinking they are not that serious. If you are convicted, you face jail times, fines, and a criminal record that will include a gun crime. This type of criminal record can make your life incredibly difficult. Contact Abel Law Firm today to schedule your initial consultation.