Drinking and driving is one of the biggest crimes, anywhere in the U.S., and the offense is strictly punishable by law. When in Texas, it is important to understand the potential consequences of being accused ofdriving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The accused person could be made to attend aneducational program regarding alcohol that could include a DWI Intervention 12-hour program or a 32-hour Repeat Offender program.
The accused could also face issues of driver’s license suspension. This suspension period could extend up to a period of two years along with a heavy reinstatement fee.
The accused could be asked to obtain a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate. This should be authorized by a reputable and legal insurance company.
Probation is another consequence of being caught drinking and driving.
The accused could also be asked to apply for an ignition interlock restricted driver’s license before they are eligible to drive again in Texas. In addition, an occupational driver’s license could also be a requirement.
What happens if you drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs as a minor? Under the age of 21 years, the accused is most likely to suffer a one-year driver’s license suspension, but that is not the only punishment. There are some other obligations to fulfil before getting your license back. A financial responsibility insurance certificate becomes a mandate for all minors. A reinstatement fee of $100 is charged in your name along with other pending fees and fines.
How can the Accused Get Their Driver’s License Reinstated?
When it is time to get your driver’s license reinstated, you may be required to do any of the following steps:
You may be required to pay areinstatement fee. This can often be paid online by the accused. This is a rather convenient option that reduces all accessory effort on your part. This takes about one to two working days to process the payment beyond which you are eligible to get your license back.
Once the payment is done, you may need to send any remaining compliance documents in order to process your reinstatement application. This is done via email along with other information including your name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the suspension copy.
If the accused is unable to make the payment of the reinstatement fees online, it would be best to send all the documents mentioned above, along with the fees to the appropriate departments for you case. Your attorney will likely be able to advise you where your documents need to be sent.
Contact an Experienced DUI Attorney Today
All information regarding the fine, the related documentation and the reinstatement procedure can be discussed with your attorney if you have questions. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs comes with stiff penalties, making it essential that you contact an attorney. The attorneys atAbel Law Firm understand the ins and outs of DUI charges in Texas. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.