If you or someone that you know has been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it is vitally important that you contact an experienced, aggressive defense attorney as soon as possible. This type of charge can result in a permanent criminal record, harsh penalties, personal and professional disgrace, and a ruined reputation. Chris Abel has a history of defending against and beating charges of DWI for his clients, and he can help you, too.

What is considered a DWI in Flower Mound and Denton County?

In Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is defined in Texas Penal Code Section 49.04 as being “intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.” Being intoxicated means either being over the legal limit in blood alcohol content or not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties because of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both.

What determines Blood Alcohol Level

A Texas DWI is determined by the blood alcohol level, or blood alcohol content (BAC), in your body at the time of arrest. Alcohol can affect you based on your weight, the amount of drinks consumed, and even your gender. Under the Texas Penal Code, the state’s BAC limits are as follows:

21 Years Old or Older: 0.08%

Commercial Drivers: 0.04%

Younger than 21: Any detectible amount

Denton County Texas DUI – Minor Law

In Texas, it is illegal for a minor to consume any amount of alcohol and drive in a public space. This law was expanded a few years ago to include watercraft in addition to motor vehicles. This is known in Texas as the Minor law, and the penalties include:

DWI Penalties For First Offense

  • Class C Misdemeanor
  • Fine up to $500
  • Attendance at an alcohol awareness class
  • Between 20 – 40 hours of community service
  • Up to 60 days driver’s license suspension

DWI Penalties For Second Offense

  • Class C Misdemeanor
  • Fine up to $500
  • Possible attendance at an alcohol awareness class
  • Between 40 – 60 hours of community service
  • Up to 120 days driver’s license suspension

For more information regarding minors and Texas alcohol laws, please see Texas Underage Drinking.

Penalties for a Denton County Texas DWI

The penalties for a Texas DWI as an adult depend on a variety of factors. Previous DWI arrests, open containers, minors in the vehicle, or an elevated BAC can all enhance the consequences of a DWI arrest. However, the typical penalties of a DWI include:

  • Class B or A Misdemeanor criminal record
  • Jail time
  • Community Service
  • Fines
  • Mandatory alcohol awareness classes
  • Probation
  • Installation of a breath device in your vehicle
  • Alcohol or drug counseling

…and other penalties that the court sees fit. For more information regarding DWI penalties, see Texas DWI Penalties.

Call a Denton or Tarrant County DWI Attorney Today

Having a DWI on your record can permanently affect your personal life and professional career with a permanent criminal record in addition to a tarnished reputation. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DWI in Denton County or Tarrant County let Chris Abel help you. Call or contact the office today for a free and confidential consultation of your case.

Flower Mound Office

Phone: 972.584.7837

Denton Office