Posted on 1/31/20

It is a serious crime to assault another person, but it is even more serious if the person assaulted is a pregnant woman. Until now, Texas laws treated assault against pregnant women and any other person in the same manner. However, new laws in Texas have changed this to ensure justice for the unborn child.

However, this new law also brings about several questions. Does the new law change anything for those who have already been charged with assault against a pregnant woman? What are the ways to protect yourself from being falsely accused? How can you seek the help of a lawyer? Here are all the details you need to know about the change in the law.

New Law for the Protection of Pregnant Women 

Before this new law, assault against women was considered a criminal complaint. On April 17, 2019, cases changed with House Bill 902’s consent and the same act is now considered a more serious crime.

What caused this dramatic change in legislation? The following are just a few of the reasons to change the law:

  • There are far more pregnant women likely being abused than is being reported.

  • People believe that the penalties for the abuse of a pregnant woman are too mild.

  • According to respondents, violence affects the health of pregnant women more than was previously thought.

  • Supporters of the law argued that short prison sentences prevent victims of violence during pregnancy from fleeing.

  • Some researchers claim that pregnant women are more likely to suffer domestic violence by nature.

  • Under the law, women want to feel safe and protected when they report violence.

Penalties and Changes in the New Law

Assaulting a pregnant woman is a third-degree felony, according to Texas laws. This means that convicted felons may spend two to t10 years in state prison and can be fined up to $10,000.  These penalties are possible irrespective of harm done to the unborn child.

Assault on Special Vulnerable Victims

Besides pregnant women, there are some other vulnerable victims that will lead to more serious charges to criminals. The law establishes higher charges and penalties for aggression against the following types of people who considered to be especially vulnerable:

Flower Mound Office

Phone: 972.584.7837

Denton Office